Express Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Express
Shop Women's Tops & Tees Dump or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Express.

THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS

A classic in the making, our bestselling Portofino has been remastered to help you achieve a sexy, confident look with remarkable effortlessness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.329 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
1
64 out of 73(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Review 1 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
Annett
Age: 25 - 29
How often do you shop at Express.com? Monthly

Love it

Date:February 18, 2014
I ve ordered one of this dresses in red for Valentine's day and it did look pretty.SIzing is perfect
Review 2 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly large
Runs large
LandonMom
Age: 25 - 29
How often do you shop at Express.com? Twice per month

Loved it!

Date:January 8, 2014
I got this dress in black & the royal blue. Its casual but still dressy enough for events. I'm a small build but the xs fit alright, its not meant to be a tight dress so I didn't mind the flowy-ness.
Review 3 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
Mgaritas
Age: 20 - 24
How often do you shop at Express.com? Monthly

Love it!

Date:January 8, 2014
I like the length, style, color, and fit. Have gotten many compliments! XS was perfect fit for my 5'6" 116 lbs figure.
Review 4 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
Shananna
Age: 20 - 24
How often do you shop at Express.com? Weekly

Great staple

Date:January 6, 2014
I bought this dress in several colors and it is so great for all occasions. Very comfortable, and flattering with the belt.
Review 5 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Runs small
Runs very small
Runs large
prettyshopper
Location:Alpharetta, GA
Age: 35 - 39
How often do you shop at Express.com? Weekly

Cute, but it's too little...

Date:January 4, 2014
Loved this dress online, but it fits really small. More or less for someone petite.
Review 6 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly small
Runs large
bbykitkats
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age: 20 - 24
How often do you shop at Express.com? Every 2-3 months

Such a weird fit.

Date:January 1, 2014
I tried this on in store and all I can say is, who can wear this? I am 5'6" and 115 pounds and this dress is ridiculously short. I even moved up to a medium and it was still too short for me. I know nobody would wear this unbuttoned, but I'm sure you would be able to see my underwear no matter what. Also, the material is not worth the price, even on sale. If anything, it just really looks like a nighty.
Review 7 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly large
Runs large
Italia31
Age: Under 20
How often do you shop at Express.com? Every 2-3 months

Date:December 28, 2013
This dress is very cute! It can be made casual or dressy. I got the XS, but it is slightly large for being an XS. Other than that it is a great dress in many of the colors.
Review 8 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
HGreenie
Location:Fishers, IN
Age: 25 - 29
How often do you shop at Express.com? Twice per month

Great Dress...Poor Quality

Date:December 27, 2013
I have a few of the Portofino shirts and I absolutely love them. I figured I would try the dress. Very comfy, fits great, dresses up or down...but, didn't last the night. I purchased this for my company Christmas party. I wore the dress from 5pm to about 11pm. By 9pm, the dress had ripped at the bottom front. The fabric pulled away from the seam by the bottom buttons...completely unfixable. Very disappointed as it wasn't exactly the cheapest outfit. I will not be able to wear the dress again and I bought it thinking it could become my new dressy casual staple. So bummed.
Review 9 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
mzjudylim
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age: 25 - 29
How often do you shop at Express.com? Weekly

Great concept, but not for me

Date:December 22, 2013
I love the Portofino shirts, so I though I'd give the dress a try. I wore it to work. Toward the end of the day I noticed that the seam near the bottom buttons on the dress had started to rip. Very disappointing. I purchased a medium. I did try on the large, but it was to big.
Review 10 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly large
Runs large
canary1
Location:los angeles
Age: 40 - 44
How often do you shop at Express.com? Monthly

nice basic

Date:December 22, 2013
You may find this bulky, as its the Portofino cut, but with a full lining. I'm 5'7", 120, and wear xs, which means I'll have to move the belt lower than the provided loops, which I'll likely just remove. Some of these run larger than others, so def try on more than one. It is a cute basic, and I wish Express offered more basic colors.
Review 11 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly small
Runs large
Annie25
Location:Florida
Age: Under 20
How often do you shop at Express.com? First time

LOVE IT HAVE 2

Date:December 19, 2013
I bought the mint blue one first and then the black one it is truely beautiful! I wear size 2 jeans and the XS worked fine for me , however I noticed that girls with bigger boobs have a problem with them because the buttons open up a bit , but having just wide hips isnt a problem. The fabric is just like a portofino shirt but not see through at all! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS !
Review 12 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly small
Runs large
KMae
Location:Toledo, OH
Age: 20 - 24
How often do you shop at Express.com? Twice per month

One of my favourites and I own in multiple colours

Date:December 10, 2013
It's perfection! The only think I would reccomend is going up a size. The fabric doesn't have much give and when I sit down it has a bit of a gape between buttons.
Review 13 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly large
Runs large
kiki4610
Location:Boston, MA
Age: 20 - 24
How often do you shop at Express.com? Every 2-3 months

Great Dress

Date:December 10, 2013
This dress is great, heavy material and I love that it has the extra layer underneath. My only complaints are that it runs a bit large, and the buttons at the bust tend to bunch and create openings, so you have to wear a tank top underneath.
Review 14 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
Runs slightly large
Runs large
wineandsunsets
Location:St Petersburg, FL
Age: 30 - 34
How often do you shop at Express.com? Twice per month

Fantastic dress

Date:December 9, 2013
Great for work, date night or lunch with friends. I have this dress in three colors and love its versatility. It can be dressed up or down, and looks equally great with heels or boots. It does run slightly large, but the length is great for work (its a little longer in the front and back). I've worn it with nude pumps to work and with boots and tights in cooler weather.
Review 15 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
texasdove
Location:Texas
Age: 30 - 34
How often do you shop at Express.com? Weekly

Comfortable

Date:December 8, 2013
Very comfortable to wear, has an underneath sheer material so it is NOT see-through (which i originally worried about). Can be dressed up or dressed down. The color is excellent!
Review 16 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
iKandybyBarbie
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Location:Dublin, CA
Age: 25 - 29
How often do you shop at Express.com? Every 4-6 months

LOVE this dress!!

Date:December 7, 2013
I really loved the portofino shirts, unfortunately due to my girls(36 DD) the shirt just didn't fit right! I was excited to see this dress and prayed the dress would look better! To my surprise this dress fit much better than the shirt did! I'm 5'4 138 lbs. Size M fits perfect! Because of the size of my chest I have to leave the top button undone, but I just layered a black tank underneath and I was good! I got so many compliments on this dress! Thinking of ordering a few more!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
mel33
Location:los angeles, ca
Age: 30 - 34
How often do you shop at Express.com? Twice per month

versatile

Date:December 7, 2013
wear as formal or informal, very versatile and comfortable
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
sccrgrlmlp
Location:Texas
Age: 20 - 24
How often do you shop at Express.com? Twice per month

Date:December 5, 2013
I already have 9 of the regular Portofino shirts and so when I saw this I knew I had to try it on. I love it! you can either dress it up or down. If you have the Portofino shirt, get the same size in the dress.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Runs small
Runs very large
Runs large
FLGal
Location:Indiana
Age: 30 - 34
How often do you shop at Express.com? Every 2-3 months

Cute Stylish Trendy

Date:December 5, 2013
This is an adorable dress, material is great and it is sooo versatile and in fashion. It just runs a bit big. I am 5'2" and 100 lbs and this dress was too big for me. I am an A cup so the top just hung awkwardly loose on me. this would be a really gorgeous dress for those that have curves!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for THE PORTOFINO SHIRT DRESS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runs small
True-to-size
Runs large
cjo15
Age: 25 - 29
How often do you shop at Express.com? Every 2-3 months

Date:December 4, 2013
Fits well, and has an underneath layer so it's not see-through. Love!
1 2 3 4 next>>